Bucke Cafe

For this activity, I went to Bucke Cafe with a friend. This cafe is about 10 minutes away from the dorms, and a lot of locals come here to do work or catch up with a friend. Additionally, Bucke Cafe has a great breakfast and bakery selection. Inside the cafe, there is a mural all over the wall, the windows are open and it is packed with people. The atmosphere is positive and I love finding a new spot to do school work or get a quick bite to eat. It felt like a hole-in-the-wall Starbucks, and I loved that “at home” feeling in the cafe.

First, I got an Iced Americano, and me and my friend took our computers out and started to catch up on some work. After about 30 minutes, we put our computers away and ordered food. I got the Original Bucke Tray, and it basically comes with several sides of different foods and a bagel: cream cheese, tuna, hummus, vegetables, lox, scrambled eggs. I loved every part of the meal, but the tuna was my favorite. It was so fresh and did not have a fishy aftertaste. I also loved that there were healthy options available in a coffee shop, and it was not a fast food type of setting like it would be in America. Everything felt authentic and the food tasted fresh. At the end, we got chocolate cake to share and it was absolutely delicious.

Looking back on this day, I was so happy I discovered a coffee shop near Tel Aviv University campus that has good vibes: it is the perfect place to do homework during the week and get some alone time. I felt immersed into Israeli culture and I loved that this café was not mainstream. It felt more localized and like an easy, fun way to explore the city and make the most of my experience abroad here. Coffee is a part of my daily routine — no day without coffee is complete for me, no matter how cliche that sounds. I’m excited to discover more places in Tel Aviv.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started